This pathfinder will help you find quality resources on bullying and topics associated with bullying.
Use these terms to get better results when searching online search engines or databases. Combine more than one for more specific results.
- national tragedies
- prevention programs
The first place to begin looking is in our prescription databases, which are searchable collections of published information that is made available online to paying subscribers. Unlike free online websites, many of which are low quality and not authoritative, the resources in databases are much more reliable and authoritative.
There are three databases you should search to find information about bullying:
- California Learns Student Portal - Search the EbscoHost database (located in the left menu) for articles and more, or use the World Book Advanced encyclopedia (in the reference section) for encyclopedia articles. Also search Learn360 using the search term "bullying" to find educational videos about bullying, harassment, bystanders and more!
- General Reference Center Gold - This is an online resource with a wide variety of information. It is made available by the Yolo County Library, so all you need in order to access it is your Yolo County Library card number.
There are many government organizations that provide information about bullying and its consequences that are excellent resources, as well as non-government organizations dedicated to fighting bullying. Look here for links to these organizations:
Are you being bullied? Learn how to get help at school.
Provides articles on how to protect yourself from bullies, abusers, and attackers.
Speak up, reach out, be a friend. This site provides information to help you stop bullying at your school.
In the United States, bullying among children and teenagers has often been dismissed as a normal part of growing up. Little attention has been paid to the devastating effects of bullying, or to the connection between bullying and other forms of violence. In recent years, however, students and adults around the country have begun to make a commitment to stop bullying in their schools and communities.
As a culture, we are focusing new attention on childhood bullying and harassment. As we watch children being crushed by bullying, we often feel powerless. No more! There are ways to stop bullying, based on decades of research.
Frequently asked questions and their answers about bullying.
Provides resources, information and products to help prevent and deal with school bullying.
Committee for Children
Provides many resources for bullying prevention. This site can guide the selection of a bullying prevention program by the bullying prevention committee.
Cyber Safety for Children
The California Department of Consumer Affairs, in partnership with the California Coalition for Children’s Internet Safety, provides resources for parent and community leaders to protect children in the online world.
Fight Crime: Invest in Kids
This study by a national advocacy group documents how bullying spawns loneliness, depression, and suicidal tendencies among its victims and foreshadows crime and violence by perpetrators.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Select A-Z Topics and then click on Bullying.
Olweus Bullying Prevention Program
Summary of the National Bullying Prevention Program developed for the US Olweus Group.
A violence prevention and character education youth program.
Set Straight on Bullies
Examines the myths and realities about schoolyard bullying. Changing attitudes about the seriousness of the problem is stressed. It studies the characteristics of bullies and bullying victims. Most importantly, it provides strategies for educators, parents and students to better prevent and respond to schoolyard bullying. Sample student and adult surveys are also included.
Taking the Bully by the Horns
Information, including a self-help book, that gives ite giving young people the skills they need to deal with bullies and maintain healthy self-esteem.
Advice on bullying from the BBC.
One of the most bullied groups of teens in America, and the one with the highest rate of teen suicide, is gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT) teens. The It Gets Better Project was founded by author Dan Savage to help show bullied and depressed GLBT teens that life gets better after high school, and to help them get through the difficulties that they face now as teens.